Uncategorized

The Widow: Confessions (3/6)

My body shook as I walked into Alden’s office. I hated to give Alden this news on today of all days, but I couldn’t keep it from him. He looks up at me then quickly back at his papers.

“Is it already time for dinner?” he asks, still looking at his documents.

“Yes,” I say, “It’s an early dinner tonight because of the dance,” I remind him.

That makes him pause, and he sets down whatever it was he was working on. “I completely forgot, Adri,” he admits, and I hear a note of surprise in his voice.

I smiled reassuringly at him, ignoring my disappointment. “It’s all right. I know you’re busy.” This is exactly what I was telling Mira about, the distance. It was our twelfth anniversary, an important milestone for both of our families. Twelve was one of the sacred numbers. Of course, I remind myself, it wasn’t really fair to be mad at him when I was just going to disappoint him. Twelve was a year when the family came together. It was usually the year where the distant relatives met the children. I feel my smile falter as I realize we will never have that.

He stood up and I forced the smile back onto my face, reaching out for his arm. “Are you ready for this?” I ask teasingly, trying to lighten the mood.

“It’s just dinner,” he replied.

I cringe inwardly at the reminder that this night won’t hold the importance it should. “Right. Of course.”

*~*~*~*~*

Dinner was tense, and the dance was even worse. Alden was distant, talking mostly to the Delecroix sisters. I was quiet, being acutely aware of the fact that as soon as it was over, I would have to tell Alden the truth. I retired to our room early to calm my nerves a moment before I told him.

When he finally walked in, he took off his jacket and began pulling at his cravat. I sat on the bed, unmoving for a while before he looked over at me. “Is something wrong, Adri?” he asked, although it didn’t sound as if he was interested in my answer.

“I went to see Gram Mira,” I told him hesitantly.

“What for? Is something wrong with you?”

I knew that this time my recoil was obvious, but he didn’t react to it. “I went to ask her about starting a family,” I start.

His eyes brightened a bit at this, finally turning his attention to me. “So? Did she figure out what was wrong?”

“She can’t fix it,” I whispered, tears falling as hard as they had been when Mira first told me.

I don’t know how I expected him to react. I hadn’t expected comfort; I knew he would be too upset. Still, I feel my stomach drop to the floor as he turned angrily and walked away. A few minutes later, he still hadn’t returned so I went looking for him. As I made my way downstairs, I heard shouting and followed the voices. They brought me to his office and I stopped on the other side of the closed door.

“I don’t understand how you could have let this happen!” I heard Alden shout at the other voice.

“Alden, calm down,” the other voice replied harshly, and I heard it was Lady Harper.

“How can I calm down? You told me that this was the right choice! You told me she was the best option! I wasted twelves years of my life!”

Hearing this, I gasp and sink to the floor. Wasted? Is that how he saw our time together?

“Adrienne’s family is far better suited for you than the Delacroixs. And that girl was too young for you anyways.”

I let out a strangled sound as I realize who they’re talking about. Had Alden truly never wanted me? Had he wanted to marry little Clarisse?

“How do you still stand by your choice?” Alden challenged his mother.

“Adrienne has powers greater than our own. Your children would be the strongest either of our families have ever seen.”

“Well, there will be no children with her, Mother! Why can you not admit that Clary would have been the better choice?”

“Who’s to say she isn’t? Who’s to say Clarisse Delacroix would give you the family you want?” Lady Harper demanded, not backing down.

“She already has.”

I felt my insides harden as I hear this. Three words and my world shatters. With a strength I didn’t know I had, I rose from the floor and wiped off my dress. Once I was composed, I pulled the door of the study open. I saw regret and sympathy on Lady Harper’s face but in Alden’s only anger.

“I think I should be going,” Lady Harper said.

“I think that would be best,” I replied, my voice harder than I intended. She patted me on the shoulder on her way out, her way of trying to reassure me. As soon as the door closed behind her, I turned to Alden.

“Why did you lie to me all of these years?” I asked him. “Why did you propose?” I was careful to keep the emotion out of my voice.

“Come on, Adri,” he argued. “You knew that we were expected to marry. Families with powers like ours are rare, and I could hardly marry your brothers.”

I bristled at his contemptuous tone. “You have no right to tell me what I know, Alden. And you had a choice. Why did you choose this?”

“I have a responsibility. To further the bloodline, to make it more powerful than ever. You should understand that responsibility.”

“And you think to have adulterine children with Clarisse Delacroix was the solution?”

Before I could see it coming, I feel the force of a blow against my entire body. I immediately recognized that he had used his mind to throw me back, but the realization only lasted a second before the room went dark.

Leave a comment